2019 Medford Candidates

On November 5, 2019, Medford residents will vote in three important races: Mayor, City Council, and School Committee.  You may vote for one mayoral candidate, seven city council candidates, and six school committee candidates — all two-year terms.  (A sample ballot from 2017 is viewable here.)  This page provides information for all candidates for all offices in alphabetical order.

On September 17, there will be a preliminary election for the City Council race, in which the field of 15 candidates will be reduced to 14 candidates.

General information about multiple candidates:

  • In 2005 and 2007, an organization called Vote Medford surveyed candidates.
  • In 2009 and 2013, South Medford Residents Together surveyed candidates.
  • In 2019, several organizations have surveyed candidates.
Stephanie Muccini Burke (Incumbent) — Official Website
  • Facebook page; Twitter account
  • Medford Votes Questionnaire
  • Prior experience: 4 years as Mayor; 16 years on the Medford City Council; Director of Personnel and Budget for the City for former Mayor McGlynn.
  • Political stance: Democrat. Donated to Hillary Clinton’s political campaign, as well as Paul Donato and Maura Healey; wrote a letter testifying in support of the Safe Communities Act, a Massachusetts law protecting immigrants and civil rights.
  • Endorsements:Teamsters Local 25, Greater Boston Labor Council /AFL CIO, NE Regional Council of Carpenters Local 328, United Steelworkers Local 12012, 12003 NAGE/SEIU Local 5000, IBEW Local 2222, Boston Carmen’s Union Local 589, Medford School Traffic Supervisors’ AFSCME Local 1599, Service Employees International Union, Local 509 Massachusetts Women’s Political Caucus, Attorney General Maura Healy, District Attorney Marian Ryan, Mayor Marty Walsh, Representative Christine Barber, Representative Paul Donato, Representative Sean Garballey.
Breanna Lungo-KoehnOfficial Website
Isaac “Zac” Bears (Website)

Natalie “Nat” Breen (Facebook)

  • Endorsements: Medford Firefighters Local 1032

Rick Caraviello (Facebook) (Incumbent)

  • Endorsements TBA
Steven Collicelli (Website)
Anne Marie Cugno (Facebook)
  • Endorsements TBA
Anthony D’Antonio (Facebook)
  • Endorsements TBA
Erin DiBenedetto (Facebook)
  • Endorsements: Medford Firefighters Local 1032
John Falco (Website) (Incumbent)
Adam Knight (Website) (Incumbent)

Michael Marks (Website) (Incumbent)

  • Endorsements: Medford Firefighters Local 1032

Nicole Morell (Website)

Jean Nuzzo (Facebook)

George Scarpelli (Facebook) (Incumbent)
  • Endorsements TBA
Curtis Tuden (Website)
Jenny Reinhagen Graham (Website)
John Intoppa (Website)
Kathy Kreatz (Facebook (Incumbent)
  • Medford Votes Questionnaire
  • Endorsements: Executive Board and C.O.P.E. Committee of the Boston Carmen’s Union Local 589 of the Amalgamated Transit Union, AFL/CIO-CLC, Medford Firefighters Local 1032
Melanie McLaughlin (Website)
Mea Quinn Mustone (Website(Incumbent)
Joseph “Joe” Plati (no known website)
  • Endorsements TBA
Cheryl Rodriguez (Facebook)
Michael Ruggerio (Facebook (Incumbent)
  • Endorsements TBA
Paul Ruseau (Website) (Incumbent)
Robert E. Skerry, Jr. (Facebook)
  • Endorsements TBA
Paulette van der Kloot (Facebook (Incumbent)